State of the Blog: Google Reader

I thought a little “behind the scenes” look would be a fun change.

trends

For those who may have a curiosity as to where I get some of my content, that’s my running thirty day total in Google Reader. To be fair, not all of the Reader items are library related. I have a couple of Google alerts for specific terms and subscriptions to some pop culture and technology feeds. This also does it represent combing through a half dozen other news sites that I look through for tidbits that might spark an idea for a blog entry. I also comb through Twitter and Facebook for additional ideas.

When it comes to library and librarian blogs, I like a wide range of voices to choose from. I’ve started incorporating blogs from other library types (academic and school, mainly) and specific library aspects (reader’s advisory, cataloging) so as to broaden my world view. I won’t say that I’m able to understand everything I read, but I’m working on it slowly.

In sharing some of my own continuing education, my question to my readers is this: what online (or offline) sources do you use to get news in the library world? What works for you?

2 thoughts on “State of the Blog: Google Reader

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention State of the Blog: Google Reader « Agnostic, Maybe -- Topsy.com

  2. Any chance you’d be willing to share an OPML file of the library blogs you follow? I’m also use Google Reader in conjunction with Reeder for iPad and really love how it allows me to keep a finger on the pulse of the field. Would love to hear you top 15-20 blogs that you find most value in.

    Great post, thanks.

Share your thoughts

