Forget the Horse, Let Me Tell You About My Awesome Cart

Over the duration of this week, there have been about five different conferences going on in which librarians that I follow on Twitter have been attending. I can’t recall all of the conferences nor all of the hashtags; I can only say that each one of them looks like part of a CAPTCHA. As diligently as the people I follow having been tweeting the choice lines from the presentations they are attending, the tweets that bear phrases like “libraries must” or “librarians must” have set off a slow fuse in me.

On the one hand, I get the points people are making. “Here’s how you can build a makerspace” or a digital media lab or Facebook presence or whatever they have successfully constructed and found community acceptance. It’s nice to see the process, the pitfalls, and the benefits and drawbacks. (Unless they skip over the drawbacks to focus on how awesome their project is.) They are there to show off the final product, not necessarily the journey to that point.

On the other hand, I think more often it is like starting to read a story a few chapters in. I can’t seem to recall many details about how they decided to build whatever it is they are talking about. What was their community research? Did they do any marketing to identify groups within their service community that made their project more likely to succeed? How was the need for a particular service identified? I’ll admit that I’ve heard presentations in which they addresses this as an opener for their talk, but it doesn’t get much stage time.

I’m saying this because it feels like most library innovation oriented talks take the tact of describing their project in detail and then spending time trying to convince the audience that it is a necessary addition to their library. Sure, it sounds great, but I really want to know how the idea got rolling. Personally, I think that’s one of the weakest areas in librarianship right now: approaching and measuring our communities for their needs.

So, when and where are those talks happening? That’s when librarians will be able to build better community relationships so they can host the materials and services that are in demand. Whether it is a makerspace, computer lab, digital media center, or lending out gardening equipment, examination of the genesis of these ideas as it relates to dialogues between librarians and their communities is the bigger issue here. I can read someone’s conference handouts on how to do it, but if I can’t figure out how to reach out and get the feedback that I need to start me down the path, then I’m stuck.

You can build it, but you should damn well make sure that they do come.

5 thoughts on “Forget the Horse, Let Me Tell You About My Awesome Cart

  1. “Personally, I think that’s one of the weakest areas in librarianship right now: approaching and measuring our communities for their needs.” Thank you– you are right on target. Oh, and just why are makerspaces so big all of a sudden??

  2. Totally agree that our biggest challenge is that we are not approaching our patrons to find out what their actual needs are. We assume they want maker spaces when the reality is, they may already exist and the best thing we can do as libraries is to help publicize these spaces to those wanting to use them. It’s about building relationships within our community not trying to outdo one another in who’s got the shiniest new toy.

  3. Good post. I’ve had some of these thoughts, myself, and just haven’t voiced them because I thought I might be the only one wondering about the decision process on these projects. I think it’s great to provide things like makerspaces ….if that’s what the community wants. Sometimes, I get the impression that everyone gets on the “new and shiny idea” bandwagon without evaluating whether that particular project is wanted or needed.

Share your thoughts

