Saturday Night Deep Thoughts

Photo by YaniG The other night, I was checking out the ALA Read poster box set on the ALA site. When I was looking at the results of a Google Image Search for examples of posters (search times: "read poster”) I noticed one thing: all of the people in the posters were holding books. While that might not be a shock to the majority of people reading this post, for me it doesn’t properly represent the underlying concept that it is advocating. Where are the magazines? Where are the blogs? Where are the books on e-reader devices? I mean, I am not saying that someone should be posing with the back of cereal box, but a showcase of the various written formats might be more appropriate in this day and age.

If anyone out there was up for it and had access to the set, I’d gladly pose for a READ poster with my laptop featuring my favorite blog.

2 thoughts on “Saturday Night Deep Thoughts

    • I’ll have to check it out. I got an offer from a license holder to make a READ poster with my laptop open to a blog, now I’ll just have to find time to pose for it.

Share your thoughts

